Dr Kenneth Hamilton: Details and Video

Dr Kenneth Hamilton, University of Birmingham

Wednesday 29 February 2012

The delayed demise of the improvised piano prelude

Described after a concerto performance with the St Petersburg State Radio Symphony Orchestra as “an outstanding virtuoso- one of the finest players of his generation” (Kommersant Daily, Moscow), by the New York Times as ‘a performer full of energy and wit’; and by the Singapore Straits Times as ‘a formidable virtuoso’, Scottish pianist Kenneth Hamilton has performed worldwide as a recitalist and concerto soloist on both modern and historical instruments.

A student of the Scottish composer-pianist Ronald Stevenson, Hamilton has appeared frequently on radio and television in Britain, the US, Germany, Canada, Australia, Turkey, and Russia, most recently as soloist in a performance of Chopin’s first piano concerto with the Istanbul Chamber Orchestra on Turkish Television, and as pianist and presenter in “Mendelssohn in Scotland”, broadcast in Europe and the US by Deutsche Welle Channel. He is a familiar voice on BBC Radio 3, and has numerous festival engagements to his credit, including a memorable recreation of Liszt’s 1847 concerts in Constantinople for the Istanbul International Festival, performances of works by Chopin and Liszt on historical pianos at the Cité de la Musique, Paris, participation as a soloist in the Beethoven Unwrapped and Mozart Unwrapped Festivals at Kings Place Concert Hall, London, appearances at London’s South Bank Centre, the Bard Festival in the US, and regular recitals at the Singapore Esplanade.

Hamilton has published extensively on Romantic music and piano performance, and is a member of the Music Department of the University of Birmingham. His latest book, After the Golden Age: Romantic Pianism and Modern Performance (Oxford University Press) became a Classical music bestseller in the US soon after its publication. It was a 2008 Daily Telegraph Book of the Year in the UK, a recipient of an ARSC award in the US, and a CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title for 2009. He is also author of "Liszt: Sonata in B minor" (Cambridge University Press) and the contributing editor of "The Cambridge Companion to Liszt".

Last modified: Friday, 8 June 2012, 4:44 PM