College Notices

Rebecca Tong is new RNCM Junior Fellow in Conducting

We are delighted to announce Rebecca Tong as our new Junior Fellow in Conducting, commencing in September.

Rebecca was one of 14 candidates chosen to attend the live auditions this month, selected from 140 applications worldwide. Over the course of three days, candidates conducted works by Dvořák, Copland, Debussy and Beethoven as well as a new piece RNCM composition student Fenton Hutson. This year’s panel was Sir Mark Elder (Music Director of the Hallé and the RNCM’s International Chair in Conducting), Clark Rundell (Head of Conducting, RNCM) and Mark Heron (Tutor in Conducting, RNCM).

Read more here

Principal's Notice: Helen Krizos

Helen Krizos – Deputy Head of the School of Keyboard Studies

Following 14 years as Deputy Head of the School of Keyboard Studies at the RNCM, Helen Krizos has decided to step aside from her full-time role in September 2018 to focus on her teaching commitments at the College.

I would like to thank Helen on behalf of the RNCM for the outstanding contribution she has made to the leadership and management of the School of Keyboard Studies in her time as Deputy Head and am delighted that she will be remaining with us in a part-time capacity, continuing to provide inspirational individual teaching and pedagogy classes for our students.

We will shortly be commencing the search for Helen’s successor as Deputy Head of the School of Keyboard Studies with a view to making an appointment for the commencement of the Autumn Term 2018. 

Professor Linda Merrick

Principal's Notice: Congregation of Awards 2018


Congregation of Awards 2018

I am pleased to announce that the 2018 Congregation of Awards will be held on Tuesday 11 December. Further details will be issued in due course.

Professor Linda Merrick


Teaching and Research Staff Grading Review

The timescales for this year’s grading review process are as follows:


Deadline for applications:                                    Friday 23rd March 2018

Applications will be reviewed by panel on:           Friday 27th April 2018

 Guidance notes and an application form can be found on the staff intranet in:

Forms and Documents > Human Resources

Guidance Notes

Application Form

Completed applications should be returned to by the above deadline.

Staff Only - New Email Footers

New email footers for the Spring term, including promotion for our new season and French Connections festival, can be downloaded from the Intranet.

Please take a moment to check that your current footer (including department specific) is in date and includes the updated branding. 

If you're unsure, please contact

Principal's Notice - Kevin Gowland


Kevin Gowland

Director of Woodwind (Deputy Head of School of Wind, Brass and Percussion)

I am delighted to announce the appointment of Kevin Gowland to the above position.

Kevin studied the flute at the Royal College of Music with Susan Milan, before being appointed by Sir Simon Rattle as Flute Section Leader of The City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra. It was a position he held for 17 years.

Kevin has appeared as a concerto soloist on many occasions, collaborating with Valery Gergiev, Sir Simon Rattle, Sakari Oramo, Paavo Järvi, Sir Mark Elder, Christian Gansch, Nicholas McGegan, Nicholas Kraemer and Richard Farnes, covering a wide spectrum of the flute concerto repertoire. He has also appeared as Guest Principal Flute with the UK’s foremost orchestras: London Symphony Orchestra, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Academy of St. Martin in the Fields, Philharmonia, Hallé, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, BBC Symphony Orchestra, BBC Philharmonic and BBC National Orchestra of Wales. He has performed as a recitalist in prestigious venues and festivals including the Purcell Room, Symphony Hall, Birmingham, the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, Dewsbury Town Hall, and the Cheltenham and Warwick Arts Festivals.

In 2005, Kevin left the CBSO to take up the position of Principal Flute with the Orchestra of Opera North.

In addition to his busy orchestral and solo career, Kevin has a keen interest in teaching and has hosted masterclasses at the Royal College of Music, RNCM, Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama, Royal Birmingham Conservatoire and Leeds College of Music. He joined the flute department of the RNCM as a tutor in 2017.

Kevin will take up his position in the summer term, commencing 16 April 2018.

Professor Linda Merrick

Principal's Notice - Neil Bohanna


Neil Bohanna

It gives me great pleasure to announce that Neil Bohanna, Head of Operations at the RNCM, was awarded an MBE in the New Year’s Honours list 2018.

In his time at the College, Neil has presided over many significant estates developments, not least of which have been the Carole Nash Recital Room, our new Concert Hall and the installation of Studio 1. A consummate and highly creative professional who always places the interests of our students first and insists on the highest possible standards from the architects and contractors with whom we work, Neil’s contribution and legacy to the RNCM has been extraordinary. I look forward to working with him as we take forward our exciting masterplan for the future.

Professor Linda Merrick


RNCM Mental Health First Aiders

Our trained Mental Health First Aiders are on hand to support the wellbeing of our staff and students. Mental Health First Aid (MHFA) is the help offered to a person developing a mental health issue, experiencing a worsening of an existing mental health issue or in a mental health crisis.

Full details can be found on our Intranet (for staff), but it’s worth noting that our trained Mental Health First Aiders are :

Jane Gray - ext 219
John Habron - ext 286
Emily Mason - ext 277
Dominic Wood - ext 355