SCHOOL OF COMPOSITION

As a student in the School of Composition, you will benefit from the best music college provision of student ensembles in the country for the rehearsal and performance of your new works.

Among the many opportunities provided to you, these will include:

Brand New Orchestra (a full symphony orchestra) - once a term

Composers' Lab (a Sinfonietta-sized group) - 8 times in the year

 

Performing Materials
As part of your training at the RNCM to be a composer, you are expected to prepare professional-standard performing materials. Guidance on how acceptable standards of materials can be sought from any staff member of the School of Composition. The Orchestra and Ensembles team have prepared a Basic Submissions Guidelines document, which you can download here. Please note, this document includes a maximum approved percussion list for Brand New Orchestra and Composers' Lab. Brand New orchestra material needs to be submitted to the Orchestras and Ensembles Liberian (office opposite the staff room). The Composers' Lab material needs to be submitted to the Orchestras and Ensembles Assistant in the Orchestras and Ensembles Office. 

From September 2018 all Brand New Orchestra and Composers’ Lab pieces need to be submitted with a respective Submission checklist. The Brand New Orchestra checklist can be found here and the Composers' Lab checklist here


Failure to submit materials adhering to these guidelines will result in your piece not being rehearsed or performed by the college ensemble.

Submission of your performing materials for ensembles is to the Orchestra Office. There are strict deadlines for your submission of materials to be performed by college ensembles.
Late submissions are not accepted - NO EXCEPTIONS!

 
Brand New Orchestra: Dates & Deadlines
Deadlines and rehearsal details for the Brand New Orchestra during 2018/19 are listed below. You will be advised on deadlines other ensemble opportunities by your Head of School throughout the year.

 

BRAND NEW ORCHESTRA     2019-20

Brand New Orchestra 1

Orchestrations deadline                                   Tue 24 Sep       1300

Submissions deadline (scores & parts)         Thu 26 Sep      1300

Tue 08 Oct        1000-1300         Rehearsal          CH

Wed 09 Oct       1500-1800         Rehearsal          CH

                            1930                 CONCERT        CH


Brand New Orchestra 2

Orchestrations deadline                                   Tue 7 Jan         1300

Submissions deadline (scores & parts)         Thu 9 Jan         1300

Tue 21 Jan        1000-1300         Rehearsal          CH

Wed 22 Jan       1500-1800         Rehearsal          CH

                            1930                   CONCERT          CH


Brand New Orchestra 3

Orchestrations deadline                                   Mon 20 Apr      1300

Submissions deadline (scores & parts)         Tue 21 Apr       1300

Wed 29 Apr       1000-1300         Rehearsal          CH

Fri 1 May            1500-1800         Rehearsal          CH

                             1930                  CONCERT          CH



COMPOSERS’ LABS 2019-20

Composers’ Lab 1

Submissions deadline (scores & parts)                           Tue 8 Oct          1300

Composers’ Lab 1                                                                Tue 15 Oct        1400-1700         CNRR

 

Composers’ Lab 2

Submissions deadline (scores & parts)                            Fri 1 Nov           1300

Composers’ Lab 2                                                                 Fri 15 Nov         1400-1700         S3

 

Composers’ Lab 3

Submissions deadline (scores & parts)                             Fri 29 Nov         1300

Composers’ Lab 3                                                                  Fri 6 Dec           1400-1700         S7

 

Composers’ Lab 4

Submissions deadline (scores & parts)                              Fri 17 Jan          1300

Composers’ Lab 4                                                                   Fri 24 Jan          1400-1700         S6

 

Composers’ Lab 5

Submissions deadline (scores & parts)                              Tue 25 Feb        1300

Composers’ Lab 5                                                                   Tue 3 Mar          1400-1700         S5

 

Composers’ Lab 6

Submissions deadline (scores & parts)                               Fri 13 Mar         1300

Composers’ Lab 6                                                                    Fri 20 Mar         1400-1700         S6

 

Composers’ Lab 7

Submissions deadline (scores & parts)                               Mon 20 Apr       1300

 

Composers’ Lab 7                                                                    Tue 28 Apr        1400-1700         S5

 

Composers’ Lab 8                                                            

Submissions deadline (scores & parts)                                Thu 23 Apr        1300

Composers’ Lab 8                                                                     Thu 30 Apr        1400-1700         S6

Last modified: Thursday, 12 September 2019, 3:19 PM